The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In the state-of-the-art era, there is not only a great change in technology and science but the lifestyle and the way of thinking of the young generation are also different from people in the past. In any family, there are usually incompatibilities between grandparents or parents and children. While older people suppose that traditional beliefs, as well as ancestor’s moral standards, need maintaining and developing, others think these ideas are too backward to help the youth adapt to space- age society. Personally, I believe that some cultural ideas are outdated but some are helpful and should not be forgotten.

On the one side, our ancestors had passed on to us the thoughts of life, precious lessons, and even strict disciplines in the way we live and treat others. And it cannot be denied that all of these things created our cultural identities. No matter which era we live, we have to train ourselves to gain good dignities such as honesty, courage, perseverance, sense of community and so on as all of them follow us during our life and help us to succeed in all things. These values exist in folk tales, images of heroes in the past which every child should be taught instead of wasting time on harmful video games. By way of illustration, it is recognized that Japan is one of the most developed countries in the world but traditional values and even strict Eastern teachings in daily life are still not faded by advanced technology or globalization. Therefore, it is these moral standards that were deeply ingrained in each Japanese citizen that help them to overcome thousands of challenges up to now to build such a powerful nation.

On the other side, there are many ideas of older people become less relevant for the current generation and even prevent their development. In fact, some unreasonable Eastern feudal prejudices still affect people’s thoughts nowadays although we are living in a world with integration and globalization. For example, in some Eastern countries, discrimination between men and women still exists and prevents women from success in their careers. So that the traditional roles of men and women, as breadwinners and housewives, are no longer accepted as necessary or appropriateness by most younger people. In addition, the thought that children have to obey parents in all things and do not have permission to decide their own future is unacceptable. In this modern life, children completely have chances to step out of their comfort zone and pursue their passion even though their decisions might be wrong.

In conclusion, being global citizens in an advanced society, we should know what we should learn from our previous generations, what we should change to grow.