Some people think that cities are the best places to live in. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside and give your own experience.

The question of which the most ideal place to live in is has become a controversial topic for many years, especially in the context of urbanization today. While some people have a craving for a sustainable job and good accommodation in modern cities, others still enjoy a peaceful life in small towns. In my point of view, each kind of living environment has its own merits making it become the most suitable place for certain groups of people, and also demerits that people have to deal with.

On the one hand, people who choose to live with the hustle and bustle of cities argue that cities bring a lot of benefits for them, especially job opportunities and a proper education system. Having advancements in technology, modern infrastructure as well as great investment from Government, urban areas are home to a great number of companies and international corporations thereby providing a multitude of employment opportunities with high salaries and promotion prospects. Besides, big cities are also places where most prestigious schools and universities with high-quality facilities and well- trained teachers and professors are located. Thus, only by living in such places do students have chances to develop both professional knowledge and essential skills, especially foreign language skills, to become global citizens in this era. However, life in crowded cities is not easy for everyone when citizens are facing some urgent problems. The more people moving to urban areas to live and work or study are, the more serious the traffic congestion is thereby becoming an obsession with every citizen. Also, because of the remarkable increase in the amount of exhausted fume from means of transportation and factories in such places, air pollution is at an alarming rate.

On the other hand, some people think that the best place to live is in the rural areas. It is believed that people who live in these areas have a healthier life because they breathe fresher air, they eat more hygienic and natural fruits and vegetables and they live in a more relaxed and quiet environment. As a result, their life expectancy is longer than those who live in cities. Moreover, the family and social bonds in villages are more close-knit than those in big cities. Thus, people feel happier because they can talk and share their problems with other people easily. Despite its positive sides, living in remote areas has certain disadvantages. It is the low- quality education system that is a big drawback of living in such areas. Moreover, in comparison with cities, the health-care system in small villages is still backward.

In conclusion, living in the city or the countryside has its own positive and negative sides, and it depends on the preference of each individual. I personally choose to live in the city area to enhance my career and plan to live in the countryside when I retire