Consumers are facing an increasing number of advertisements from competing companies.

To what extent do you think advertisements influence consumers? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In modern days, people are experiencing an exponential rise in advertisements from different companies that are selling similar products. I strongly believe that this excessive promotion culture is highly manipulating consumers’ purchasing behavior as the super attractive commercials can easily mobilize the audience's attention. However, proper governmental initiatives like raising consumer awareness and setting up an advertisement monitoring committee can be effective measures to address this advertisement frenzy.

Firstly, one of the crucial factors is some large companies would invest a huge amount of money in advertisements to draw people’s attention to purchase the product. In addition, they might utilize a wide variety of tools for promotion, such as outdoor advertising and celebrity endorsement. For instance, a company places its adverts in a popular area and uses attractive colors to design, as a result, when potential consumers come across these attractions, their purchase decisions get influenced heavily. Furthermore, many companies hire well-known celebrities as their endorsement to let their brand seem trustworthy. Fans of these idols are their target market. Some sellers even go one step ahead, to induce possible buyers, they use instant temptation in the name of trying their products or services with free trials.

However, some dishonest companies might include misleading and false information to make profits and neglect the public interest where the government can play effective roles to check this deception. It is recommended to set up an independent committee to regulate and manage the quality of the advertisement. A clear and standard guideline is needed to make sure that advertisers understand and obey the requirements. Furthermore, the government can educate the public to stay vigilant on advertisements through various online and offline platforms like social media, seminars, and occasional campaigns. These approaches can alert consumers to do in-depth research and investigate the facts before making their purchase decisions.

In conclusion, due to sheer competition among companies, misleading advertisement culture is rampant nowadays, so governments need to establish monitoring cells and raise mass consumer awareness to deal with this rising concern.