in many countries, people are moving from rural areas to urban areas what the reasons for this, and what problems can this cause

In the modern era, when industries are overshadowing agriculture, especially in developing countries, most people are migrating to metropolises in the hope of a better future. This essay is to elaborate on some reasons leading to this trend and current problems that many urban areas are facing.

To begin with, there are two main reasons for explaining the overwhelming number of people leaving their home villages to live in big cities. First of all, it is undeniable that prestigious cities provide people with a good many job opportunities and a high-quality education system, thereby compelling them to settle in such places. Indeed, modern cities are places where many companies, factories, and high-rank universities are located. For that reason, young people come there to develop their career paths. Secondly, due to the fact that global warming and natural disasters are more and more serious today, agriculture in pastoral areas are affected negatively. When crops are destroyed by floods or drought, many poor farmers cannot meet their end needs and support their families so they have to move to urban areas seeking other sustainable jobs.

When there is a great influx of population in cities from provincial towns year by year, such cities have to suffer from overpopulation and other related drawbacks. First and foremost, nowadays residents in most hectic cities are obsessed with traffic congestion. This issue not only causes an increase in unproductive travel time but also makes people stress when they have to take a long time to commute. Secondly, there is a considerable problem that not everyone who moves to metropolitan areas can find permanent jobs because many people do not have adequate qualifications and specialized skills as well that most big companies require. Thus, unemployment is at an alarming rate. Moreover, once they do not have jobs and enough money to afford high-cost living, such people are easy to be propelled towards a life of crime.

In conclusion, in the perspective of individuals, emigrating to a better living environment for working or studying is beneficial to them. However, there are some urgent problems that need solving by the government.