IS PROTECTIONISM GOOD OR BAD?

Protectionism is the economic policy of restricting imports from other countries through methods such as tariffs on imported goods, import quotas, and a variety of other government regulations with the purpose of protecting the domestic industries. In the context of globalization, the question of whether protectionism is good or bad for both a national economy and the whole global economy is still controversial. This essay is to elaborate on both pros and cons of protectionism.

To begin with, there are still some countries adopt a trade protectionist policy because of its certain benefits. First of all, If a country is trying to grow strong in a new industry, tariffs will protect it from foreign competitors. That gives the infant industry’s companies time to develop their own competitive advantages. For example, in order to encourage aquaculture businesses to develop, the Vietnamese government implemented supportive measures such as export duty exemption or cutting down business income tax but the government imposes import duties on these goods from other countries. That is considered a protectionist policy. Secondly, protectionism also temporarily creates jobs for domestic workers.8The protection of tariffs, quotas, or subsidies allows domestic companies to hire locally. For instance, Donald Trump, the United States President, signed the decree "Buy American - Hire Americans" and enforced of anti-dumping tax, anti-subsidy. Especially, the US has recently slapped import duties of more than 400% on Vietnam steel. All policies Trump imposes are to protect domestic manufacturing and reduce the unemployment rate.

However, despite the intent of certain economists and policymakers, trade protectionism has certain long and short-term effects on a nation’s macroeconomy and often the global economy. Firstly, Consumers’ limited choice and pay more for goods and services. A key effect of trade protectionism is that consumers will have a limited choice of products and goods since there may be quotas on how much may be imported. Due to these quotas, consumers will have a very limited choice as to the quantity, quality, and type of product that would otherwise be available to them without trade protectionism.

Secondly, In the long term, trade protectionism weakens the industry. Without competition, companies within the industry have no need to innovate. Eventually, the domestic product will decline in quality and be more expensive than what foreign competitors produce.

In terms of the global economy, protectionism is damaging to everyone. Particularly, Trump’s “America First” economic policy could hurt the U.S. economy in the long run. Tariff imposition on imports from China, Canada, EU, Mexico, and India have triggered retaliatory tariffs. A trade war with these large economies leads to serious consequences for U.S. exporters and the labor force. But the immediate losers will be the global consumers. They will be forced to pay inflated prices. High costs could create inflation around the world.

In conclusion, trade protection should be considered very carefully due to the dangerous repercussions it could have on a domestic economy and globally.