Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic:

Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to British and Australian laws, the defendant’s past criminal record would be hidden from the jury for the purpose of protecting the accused. Some lawyers believe that the regulation should be changed and propose that a jury should consider all the past records before reaching the verdict. In my opinion, I firmly agree with the idea of the modification of the law since the last judgment would be more precise and this could also become a deterrence for criminals.

The precision of the jury’s final decision is very important because it not only could become a breakthrough in a person’s life, but it also is a representation of the fairness of the jury. Furthermore, considering all the past criminal records before reaching the eventual convict is the best way to increase the accuracy of the judgment. For example, a person who commits a crime for the first time is totally different from a recidivist, because the one who redoes a crime not only commits that illegal act again but also be guilty of looking down on the jury, laws, and punishments. Hence, if the jury were unaware of the past, the same punishment would be launched which absolutely could not become a deterrence for the criminals, and consequently, they could commit that illegal act again and again.

Being knowledgeable about the accused’s past could lead to bias in the final decision of the penalty, but sometimes bias is not a bad thing. It is obvious that if the defendant’s past criminal record was clean or just has some trivial crimes, the bias would not occur, but according to the number of crimes they committed and the seriousness of it, bias absolutely takes place. Once it arises, the final sentences undoubtedly would become heavier and simultaneously, convey implicitly a message that committing a crime in the past could be a stain on your whole life.

In conclusion, this practice should be changed to ensure the fairness of the court.