Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

In certain countries such as Britain and Australia in a criminal trial jury was unaware about the past law-breaking activities of the accused. According to a certain number of lawyers this trend reduce the chances of a criminal to be charged guilty. This essay agrees with this statement since our previous occurrences reflect our personality massively as well as these informations can be valuable for trial.

To commence with, the path of major crimes goes from small to large. A criminal tend to attempt any smaller crimes prior to committing anything big. Hence, report of previous law breaking an initiative should be disclosed in front of a jury to make the judgment appropriate. To cite an instance, an article in "Daily Buggle" evident that about 60% of major law breakers had a record of crime in their past.

Even though, it is possible that an accused may be involved in a bad incident that he did not mean to do. It is a famous claim used by most of them to reduce sentences. However, a clear record may generate a distinct view of the matters which will help the jury to understand is the event done with a motive or it was an accident. Therefore, all the information of the previous involvement needs to be presented to establish a proper judgment of the jury. In a recent case of drunk driving, a man was released with minimal punishment as he has no crime records and a noble figure of the society.

In a nutshell, the statistics in criminal record can provide a greater view of their personality and motive for attending any law-breaking occurrences. This data will also assist the judge and jury to provide exact sentences.