Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that under British and Australian law, to guard offenders, the jury is not allowed to know data about the criminal's previous record. However, some people think that they should know all the facts of the defendant's past in order to make better trial decisions. From my opinions, I totally agree with this statement.

To begin with, clemency should be granted to criminals with a clean past and vice versa. In fact, not all criminals are bad because they often have reluctant reasons for their crimes. Therefore knowing the past of criminals in advance helps law enforcers increase or decrease the severity of their punishment. For example, in order to be fairer to prisoners, Russian Law has studied the defendants' past criminal records. As a result, repeat offenders will be punished more severely and those who commit crimes under the influence of circumstances will be mitigated.

Furthermore, the innocent people will be vindicated with a clean past data. It is because there are some criminals who are believed to have committed crimes to protect themselves. For example, a girl commits murder when she is raped, but this is a legitimate act of self-defense that all of us must respond to when in danger. Therefore, we cannot equate her with any other heinous criminal. Besides, considering the patient's medical history also plays an important part in investigating the cause of the cases. As one more instance, many prisoners are believed to have suffered from serious psychological disorders, especially depression. Thus, legislators can better understand their situation to make fair and appropriate judgments.

In conclusion, It is significant for the trial panel to be aware of the prisoners' past status and circumstances. It is suggestible that national legal systems should include provisions for understanding the criminal records of accused persons in order to make reasonable decisions