Most societies have its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

It is true that there are many homeless people in most countries around the world. However, some individuals believe that providing a financial assistance is the most effective to tackle their problem. From my point of view, I maintain that we should not support idea.

To begin with, giving money to the homeless people makes them more poverty-stricken on account of the misuse of finance in bad deeds. According to a report done by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development, 6 out of 10 homeless inhabitants admit to use charity money to purchase alcohol or drugs. Furthermore, as they do not know how to save money, if they are given financial support, they will disperse it rapidly. This tendency to spend on short-term needs urges the homeless to easily fall into drug and alcohol addiction.

To handle this global issue, the government should take care of the citizens without home by assisting their essential demands. Indeed, the major of the homeless citizens have the desire to get a stable job and a long-term home as well as medical support. Therefore the country can allocates money from the budget to attract the homeless residents into work. For instance, in some developed countries such as Singapore and Japan, encourage them to work by providing food, cloth and accommodation to clean the streets. Consequently, their living conditions have improved significantly and it is impossible to see any beggar in these countries.

In conclusion, cash assistance to beggars not only does not help them to be more prosperous, but also makes them more prone to fall into social evils. It is suggestible that despite the effectiveness in some aspects, the issue of homelessness will achieve tremendous improvements by the efforts of the government and the whole community.