The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessments over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

Some people believe that with the ongoing development of modern society, the movements of education mainly focus on the regular evaluation of student learning during the school year as an alternative to conventional paper exams. In my opinion, I totally agree with this tendency.

To begin with, continuous assessments play an essential role in advancing the quality of modern education on account of various benefits for students. Firstly, this trend reduces a large amount of budget to spend on paper exams to focus on investing in improving facilities as well as teaching quality of the school. For example, in a secondary school in Canada, thanks to this effective policy, the have use money to organize exams into upgrading smart devices for teaching. Furthermore, instead of worrying about stressful exams, students will have more time to take part in extracurricular activities. This not only helps them improve their learning spirit, but also boosts the developments of their physical health.

On the other hand, competitive exams put juniors under heavy pressure. Indeed, after major exams, due to pressure from family and peers, some candidates tend to lose their will and can't control their pessimistic thoughts that seriously affect their psychological health. For instance, according to a recent research done after the entrance exam to 10th grade at Amsterdam high school for the Gifted, many scholars are believed to have suffered from mental disorders or even depression. Consequently, this limits their learning ability and it takes a long time to return to normal.

In conclusion, it is crucial to eliminate the inadequacies of previous academic system and reform it with the valuation of student’s ability in the learning process. It is advisable that families and school should allow pupil to work with more freedom and choice to reach their goals in the future.