It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Some people believe that with advancement of information technology, there is a dramatic growth in adolescent crime due to violent content broadcasted by the media. Personally, I totally agree that the negative impacts of communications are mainly responsible for this issue and several solutions should be adopted by the government and family.

To begin with, the young people are easily influenced with murderous and unhealthy media products. Indeed, their immature minds urge them to imitate the actions of characters in books and movies in daily life. Therefore, the overexposure to uncontrollable action films and stories gradually forms the instillation of violent thoughts making them difficult to control and seeing brutal behavior as a demonstration of their power. For instance, according to recent survey conducted in mainland China, the majority of juvenile delinquents are believed to have been controlled by the appearance of superheroes in action movies.

To handle this problem, governments and families play a significant role in managing children’s exposure to violence in the media. Firstly, the government should enact stricter regulations on the release of media products. Severe penalties are fundamental be imposed on production houses against law. For example, media companies in India will be banned from operating if they intentionally discharge products with unhealthy content to adolescents. Furthermore, parents should control children’s choice towards the media and organize outdoor activities for them. This not only motivates them to give up bad habits, but also helps them develop physically and mentally.

In conclusion, the effects of visuals media are the main factor leading to the increase of juvenile crimes and parent’s supervision and national laws can curb this situation. It is predicted that effective cooperation between families and authorities will bring about desirable results in the future.