It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

In this age of cutting-edge technology, media has gradually influenced every aspect of our life, particularly in terms of children’s mind. There exists some schools of thought that violence in the media leads to the increase in juvenile crime. From my perspective, I totally agree that this is the prime cause of juvenile delinquency. Thus, pragmatic solutions should be taken as soon as possible to mitigate this phenomenon.

To begin with, the inexorable rise in juvenile offenders can be mainly ascribed to the influence of violent and aggressive behavior through many kinds of media platforms. The reason for this is violent games or videos including bloody scenes and great physical torment will exert negative implications on children’s cognitive development. Take a prime example of this is the addiction to computer games of Vietnamese children, especially violent games. Since they can live in a virtual world where any aggressive actions are rewarded, they gradually bear a deep-seated belief in mind that violence is funny, inconsequential and a viable solution to problems, for which they will not receive any strict penalty from the government. Therefore, children are inclined to develop aggressive and rowdy behaviors, or seriously willing to resort to violence and commit heinous crimes to satisfy their demands.

In the face of the escalating juvenile crime rates, there is plenty of room for practical solutions to help reduce violence on juvenile behavior. First and foremost, the government needs to take action in the assessment of any social media, thus it will significantly decrease the amount of violent or inappropriate content. Besides, children also should be carefully monitored by their parents in what they are watching and playing to ensure that they can stay away from violence on media platforms.

In conclusion, violence in the media is considered a main reason for the increase in juvenile crime due to the pernicious effects being done to children’s development. As a consequence, different down-to-earth measures must be taken for the alleviation of this problem, which are the government's action and parents’ monitor.