In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units rather than in large extended family groups. Is this a negative or positive trend?

Along with the accelerating pace of development, in many countries, a great number of people living in urban areas, especially the metropolises, prefer leaving home and living alone or in nuclear families to remaining in large extended families. From my perspective, I’m convinced that this trend exerts positive impacts on both household issues and individual lifestyles.

To begin with, the choice to live alone or in small family units helps to mitigate most of the domestic matters which usually occur in large families. A primary example of this is the generation gap because of the marked distinction among many generations in a family in terms of thoughts and social lifestyle. In the integrated society, While young and middle-aged people are keen on living on the edge, the elderly tend to insist on a tranquil slow-paced life. Therefore, all the family members will find it difficult to get along well with each other, thus it’s reasonable to live in small family units which can avoid confrontations caused by incompatible perspectives.

Another point is that, living alone helps a person to practice being self-reliant and standing on their own feet without relying on other people. From then, they can learn interpersonal skills such as financial management or problem-solving skills that may help them in the foreseeable future. Moreover, a private space will be comfortable to lead their own favorable lifestyle and pursue their dream job or future goals.

Opponents of this viewpoint may argue that nuclear families inhibit the preservation of conventional customs. While this line of reasoning is built on certain strong ground, it is limited in the advanced development of social aspects. It’s my conviction that traditional values are always of significance to preserve, however if the elderly just pass down their experience to the posterity in a perfunctory way, it may become counterproductive in a modern society. Instead, the combination of convention and innovation can lead to a comprehensive development, which makes the young generation willing to learn and improve.

In conclusion, living alone or in nuclear families can positively influence our society by alleviating family problems and promoting individual life. Moreover, it’s my strong belief that it will become more persuasive if the harmony of tradition and novelty is created in this day and age.