It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

In this age of cutting-edge technology, media has gradually influenced every aspect of our life, particularly in terms of children’s mind. There exists some schools of thought that violence in the media leads to the increase in juvenile crime. From my perspective, I totally agree that this is the prime cause of juvenile delinquency. Thus, pragmatic solutions should be taken as soon as possible to mitigate this phenomenon.

Admittedly, brutal contents in many kinds of media platforms are the major reason for juvenile crimes. The reason for this are violent games or videos including bloody scenes and great physical torment might exert negative implications on children’s cognitive development. Take a prime example of this is the addiction to computer games of Vietnamese children, especially violent games. Since many young people can immerse themselve in a virtual world where any aggressive actions are rewarded, they take it for granted. Therefore, children are inclined to develop aggressive and rowdy behaviors, or seriously willing to resort to violence and commit heinous crimes to satisfy their demands.

In the face of the escalating juvenile crime rates, there is plenty of room for practical solutions. First and foremost, the government should take action in the assessment of any social media, thus it would significantly decrease the amount of violent or inappropriate content. Besides, parents need to spend more time with their children. With parental care and supervision, young people can comprehensively develop both physically and mentally without being involved in any over-aggressive activities

In conclusion, violence in the media is considered a main reason for the increase in juvenile crime due to the pernicious effects being done to children’s development. As a consequence, different down-to-earth measures must be taken for the alleviation of this problem, which are the government's action and parents’ monitor.