In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

It is true that in some parts of the world, the majority of the residents would prefer to live a rental house instead of purchasing a permanent one. From my point of view, there are both benefits and drawbacks for this situation.

To begin with, renting a home is beneficial for financial savings as well as relocation. First of all, people can save money buying a house to invest in other profitable projects. Indeed, not everyone can afford to pay a large sum of money for owning a home and then have to pay for furnishing and home repairs. Therefore, instead of worrying about a long-term debt, we are able to rent a cheap house and spend money on smart investments that improve our quality of life. Moreover, it is advantageous for moving in a new better place to suit the work of family members. For instance, according to a recent survey done in, many Japanese people often move new place because the nature of their work makes the feel uncomfortable when they are only in old one.

On the other hand, being bound by rules and untrustworthy landlords are negative factors affecting individual’s decision. Firstly, tenants must follow all the rules written in the tenancy agreement. For example, some landlord doesn't allow you to keep pets in the house and park in their area. Furthermore, people are likely to get troubles with landlords who are dishonest with their policy. This is because they can increase their rent at any time and delay in maintaining the appliances in the house. Consequently, people have to higher rents and repair furniture by themselves in their rented house.

In conclusion, renting a home has many merits and demerits in certain aspects. It is suggestible that every individual should make the most informed decision in choosing the suitable type of housing effectively meeting their standards of living.