It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior in addition to provide formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that assigning responsibility to schools or families for the development of children is always the top priority of each nation. There is an opinion that apart from providing students with academic knowledge, education institutes should be accountable for forming children’s good behavior. In my point of view, I mostly agree with this statement, although parents should also play a crucial role to help offspring improve their interpersonal skills.

To begin with, it is believed that schools are effective environments for children to be trained to become well-behaved individuals. To be more specific, by instilling positive values such as honesty, respect, kindness, and responsibility through lessons, teachers serve as good models for children and help them foster empathy and understanding toward others. For instance, as moral lessons about being polite and respectful are delivered, pupils can acknowledge the importance of these codes of demeanor and tend to exhibit them in real life, creating a more harmonious community.

Furthermore, since students spend a significant portion of their time in school, the school environment can profoundly impact not only their academic performance but also their social skills. More specifically, by attending schools, which are considered representative of society, students can learn how to handle conflicts, solve problems and communicate effectively. These skills are extremely essential in their future life, both personal and professional. To illustrate, teachers can divide the class into small groups and request them to solve homework together. This assignment can create an opportunity for children to sharpen their teamwork skills and learn how to cherish their difference and value contradicting opinions which are important skills in the working environment.

However, the responsibility of teaching good demeanor cannot solely be the school’s onus since parents also play a vital role in forming a child’s conduct. In other words, it seems more difficult to teach children good behavior if they live with parents who always use abusive language or derogatory terms to other people. Therefore, to create a rounded- development in personality for children, it is parents that must be good models for them at first.

In conclusion, while a formal education is essential, it is equally crucial for schools to share the responsibility with parents in ensuring that students are well-prepared to be good citizens.