Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have To what extent do you agree or disagree

Given the fact that university fees are inexorably growing, the affordability of tertiary education has been a heated topic of controversy. Some people would argue the provision of free-of-charge education should be welcomed; however, I believe that the advantages brought about by the abolishment of tuition fees are far outweighed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, waiving tuition fees can produce several positive outcomes. On the individual level, this policy can provide economically disadvantaged students with opportunities to pursue higher education, and this is particularly socially meaningful for those who possess a remarkable aptitude for academic studies but are financially at a disadvantage. On the societal level, the free-college policy would result in a more educated workforce. It comes as no surprise that without intellectually cultivated workers, scientific breakthroughs and technological advances would be out of reach to any country. Take Japan for example, that its robotics engineering has surpassed that of many industrialized countries can be attributable to its great emphasis on promoting education amongst its citizens, and this is verifiable to many Western nations as well.

On the other hand, the inititave to dispense with university tuition fees can have negative implications for both students and educational institutions in the long run. For one, an upsurge in the gross enrollment rate can incontrovertibly put a great deal of stress on numerous universities because they have to tax their existing learning facilities and human resources to accommodate the increasing influx of college attendees. Financial assistance from the government would become increasingly common, resulting in budget deficits, tax hikes, and reduced welfare. Furthermore, the abolition of tuition fees would render college qualifications inconsequential. This is because the acquisition of a tertiary degree has long been considered invaluable in giving a student an edge over other candidates; hence, a toughly competitive job market where even bachelor's degree holders constantly struggle to stand a chance of finding employment can spell disaster for university attendees.

In conclusion, the decision to get rid of university tuition fees would wreak havoc on the sustainability of educational institutions and the career prospects of students. Although some impoverished university attendees can benefit from this, I personally believe that it is preferable that students pay for their education, and to the financially disadvantaged, there ought to be optimal policies to encourage them to complete their studies as much as possible.