Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks while others say they should accept people of all ages even if they did not do well at school Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is a difference in opinions about the availability of higher education to people. While some argue it should be offered to young students who achieve highest marks, others think it ought to be accessible to all learners regardless of their age and school performance. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and state my own thinking.

On the one hand, there are various reasons for limited tertiary education admission. First, as those with highest marks are usually intelligent and hard-working, they are deserved to be accepted into universities. Some argue that it reflects how determination and perseverance can be paid off in the long run, which will help people learn to value time and avoid procrastination. Second, it will guarantee that graduates are highly educated and find work easily in this knowledge-based society. For instance, most jobs nowadays require a certain level of skills and knowledge to comprehend industrial and technological tasks, students who show excellent achievement are more likely to succeed in workplace. Finally, limited admission to universities can prove helpful in resources exploitation. To illustrate, schools will find it easy to focus their educational capital and effort on high-quality personnel.

On the other hand, universal entry into higher education can be explanable with some reasons. First, age does not relate well to intellectual potential of an individual. Intelligence level peaks variedly amongst individuals, which seems to be impossible to conclude which age people are at to be suitable for studying. A prodigy who can produce meaningful output to the level of an adult expert should not be impeded by age restriction in education. Second, I believe academic results should not be the ultimate intellectual measurement when seeking university students. As there are multiple intelligence types, according to neuropsychologist and education Howard Gardner, one single test can not determine comprehensively whether a student is qualified to move to university or not. For instance, students with great linguistic intelligence may not perform well in mathematics tests, but they are excellent at interpreting and communicating in language, and vice versa.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be inappropriate to limit the number of entries into higher education although there are some viable reasons for this standpoint.