Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home To what extent do you agree or disagree

As computer technology has become a driving force for many changes in education, various educational institutions begin offering online courses and allocate their financial resources for their development. Nevertheless, some would argue that given the benefits and liabilities of both traditional and online learning, students still benefit much more from studying with their peers in traditional settings. In my view, this seems reasonable for several reasons.

Group learning in classroom environments can yield many positive outcomes for students and their academic lives. The first and most obvious merit of traditional courses is facilitated direct communication amongst learners, which is particularly useful for students' interpersonal skills, including communication expertise. This can be simply explained by the fact that in group learning settings, students are constantly compelled to pay heed to various verbal and non-verbal cues so as to push the discussion over the line. Such vital skills for today's roughly competitive job markets can only be possible in traditional learning, and those who isolate themselves during learning situations can miss out on this chance. In addition, students adopting the online learning paradigm are less likely to gain as many opportunities to build up personal relationships with their teachers and classmates as their counterparts throughout the duration of their education. Needless to say, rapport only thrives best when there are live, human interactions.

Admittedly, some would argue that with an increasing number of dropouts, online learning with its great level of convenience can be a significant catalyst for encouraging more students to continually pursue their education. This is true that the autonomy that online learning offers is primarily accompanied by flexible study schedules, and those who have to shoulder responsibilities at home or at work besides schoolwork can find this an eminently attractive characteristic. Be that as it may, traditional classes where peer support is constantly fostered can equally discourage students from giving up their studies, which means there is no need for a shift to online courses only to increase student participation in learning. Furthermore, the very autonomy offered by online learning can make it hard for learners to keep a boundary between school and life as there is no fixed schedule to follow. Therefore, I would say group learning in the classroom is far more favorable to students' success.

In conclusion, while there are pros and cons of both conventional and online learning paradigms, traditional classes would provide students with a wider range of academic opportunities than their counterparts. It is advisable that educators and educational instructors design the most suitable learning modes for their students so as for them to reach their full potential.