Some people think that international car free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution others think there are some other ways Discuss both views and give your own opinions

Some people would argue that international car-free days can significantly reduce the level of air pollution while others believe there are other alternatives that are more effective. However, I personally believe that the combination of different approaches will yield more positive outcomes in the long run.

It is true that exhause fumes from cars are a major cause of air pollution as they contain a relatively high proportion of pollutants such as CO2. Thus, by having some days without cars on the road, no harmful smoke will be released into the atmosphere, and this will therefore better air quality. This policy is highly effective in major cities around the globe, such as Beijing, which is widely known for its atmosphere filled with smog. Since this car-free day policy has been introduced, the air quality of the city has been considered greatly improved by a vast majority.

However, there are certain important methods besides implementing the aforementioned initiative that can ameliorate the damaging effects of air pollution. Encouraging the use of public transport is one of these ways. Public transport, ranging from subways to buses, produce a smaller quantity of pollutants, which in turn is less likely to impact air quality. In addition to this, the disposal of waste, particularly plastic one emiting toxic fumes if burned, should be strictly regulated or monitored. The final and most effective way is to use sustainable and environmentally-friendly energy sources like solar or wind power, to replace fossil fuels in the long term.

In conclusion, although each method has its own merits in alleviating the air pollution issue, I strongly believe that a number of different methods can address the problem much more effectively.