Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefits the economies of developing countries Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are general harmful Discuss both of views and gi

The impacts of huge international companies are of great controversy. Some people claim that those corporations can be greatly beneficial to the economic growth of developing nations. Others, however, argue that the multinationals do more harm than good. In this essay, I aim to discuss both viewpoints and state my own opinion.

On the one hand, giant global firms play a role in promoting economic development in developing countries. With expanded infrastructure, it is much likely that the internationals will be in great need of employees, which leads to better income for regional residents. Take Turkey for example, its people gain 15% plus added to their current wages with global firms opening widely in the country. In addition, developing countries can be offered a variety of advanced products around the globe, therefore, adopt the equivalent technologies and manufacture process. That means when large corporations aim to invest more in skillful workers and top-notch facilities, developing nations can have healthier national economic prospects.

On the other hand, beneficial as it may seem, those large multinationals can pose a serious threat to the economic health of developing nations. To begin with, with more employees hired in those huge companies, local firms are more subjected to lose a great deal of income and workers, not to mention the shut-down due to lack of resources. It is the speedy development of international companies that ironically pushes regional corporations in developing nations to the margin of the industries, with Vietnam being a case in point. Second, owing to the successive cancellation of national shops mentioned above, there will be an inevitable disproportionate distribution in economic wealth across the country, causing state industry to depend heavily on foreign industries.

In conclusion, although large multinationals are somehow beneficial to developing nations, I believe that with the long term effects of these giants on the overall health of the nations, we are prone to be in hot water with various problems arising. However, these drawbacks can be substantially eradicated with the concerted effort made by the governments and the mass around the world.