Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words.

There is an opinion that our characteristics are inborn, and nothing could be done to change them. However, in this essay, I will challenge this school of thought.

Granted, one might argue that one’s personalities are decided by genetical factors prior to his or her birth. This is predicated on the assumption that a lot of character traits can be seen in newly-born infants, who certainly haven’t had much exposure to the outside environment. To illustrate, it is not uncommon to see that many babies, who are just one or two months old, throw tantrums at even the most trivial things, for instance, having to lie on the bed instead of being pampered in their mother’s hands. Such kids, when growing up later, have a tendency to lose their tempers very easily, and will react very intensely to something they object to. This clearly renders that our characteristics are predetermined as a result of genes before we are born.

While the aforementioned claims seem to be true to a certain extent, they do not really stand up to scrutiny. In fact, a lot of our personality traits are altered through time, either in a more positive or negative way, due to outside factors. This can be seen in many cases of children born in less priviledged conditions. Being born, most kids may be pretty care-free. However, having to undergo extreme emotional pains, such as the death of one parent or domestic violence, they are likely to be more pessimistic and have a grimmer outlook on life. Similarly, a four-or-five-year-old child who is initially very shy, can still develop into a confident public speaker if given plenty of opportunities to express their ideas and communicate with others.

To conclude, while acknowledge that several of our traits are innate, I still believe that many of them can be shaped in a different way by the environment, or proper training and practice.