Write an essay with at least 250 words about the consequences of plastic bags and how to solve this problem?

Although scientists advise people against using plastic bags due to their non-biodegradable nature, they are still a part of our modern life owing to their convenience and versatility. As plastic bags are capable of causing detrimental impacts on the environment, the ecosystems and on humans themselves, it is high time that the government as well as every individual took action to reduce the use of them.

First of all, once being disposed of, plastic bags take thousands and years to decompose, which is likely to pose a grave threat to unfortunate animals were they to accidentally consume the material. If cast into the oceans, plastic bags may be mistaken for jellyfish and swalllowed by marine animals. Once plastic bags get into these animals’ bodies, they can hinder their disgestive and breathing systems and drive them to the brink of death. More seriously, plastic bags can cause suffocation in children in the adsence of their parents’ supervision. Last but not least, the lead contained in vibrant-coloured plastic bags can toxicate its content and adversely affect the health of both the users as well as those who are exposed to them excessively.

What is needed to solve this problem are definite actions. Although it seems impossible to completely eliminate the use of plastic bags, there are numerous solutions to ignite their consequences. Governments and local authorities place restrictions on the use of plastic bags, especiall vibrant-colour ones to lesson the rate of consumers being poisoned. Environmental organisations should launch more campaigns to enhance public awareness of the harmfulness of plastic bags as well as encourage consumers to replace plastic bags with eco-friendly shopping ones made of cloth, paper or other biodegradable materials. In addition, the security of the waste system should be tightened so that plastic bags are not tossed into water resources.

To conclude, plastic bagscan bring about a lot of detrimental consequences. Therefore, the governments as well as every individual should take actions as soon as possible to minimize their impacts and contribute to a green planet.