Child abuse is happening everywhere. What are the consequences and solutions to it?

Child abuse has become one of the most distressing issues nowadays, generating tremendous unease in society for its detrimental impacts. In response to its long-term and devastating consequences, relevant solutions must be employed.

It is an irrefutable fact that child abuse can pose severe threats to a child’s physical and mental health. Evidence from research has pointed out that maltreatment can contribute to a child’s brain damage, malnutrition, chronic headache and vision problems. Apart from those, child abuse can directly cause depression and diminished cognitive development. Additionally, it can negatively affect a child’s ability to form peer relationships, leading to self-isolation and antisocial traits, which can result in criminal behaviours in adulthood.

Although the physical, psychological and behavioural impacts of child abuse weigh heavily on the shoulders of children who endure them, they can extend even to societal levels. For example, more money must be invested in medical systems to ensure children’s welfare as hospitalisation increases. In addition, child abuse can have some far-reaching indirect consequences such as lost productivity at school and the increasing rates of social evils.

What is needed to mitigate the consequences of child abuse are definite actions. When a child suffers from maltreatment, parents can alleviate the bad thoughts of children by creating a positive environment of more parental care and peer interaction. What’s more, to prevent the risks of child abuse, public and private agencies should launch more campaigns to reach children about self-defence skills, problem-solving skills and emotion-controlling skills.

To conclude, child abuse can have adverse impacts on not only children but also society. Therefore, it is of utmost importance that urgent measures should be taken to combat this issue.