Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for major cities. What are the main causes of traffic congestion and suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic jams in big cities?

These days, traffic jams have become a major issue in most metropolitan areas. Traffic congestion usually occurs at peak periods, when everyone commutes to work and get home from these places. This essay will delve into the main causes of traffic gridlocks and suggest some measures to ease traffic jams in urban areas.

There’s no doubt that traffic congestion results from a number of factors. First of all, traffic gridlocks are caused by the growing number of vehicles on the streets. Because of the increasing demand for transportation and travelling, there are more and more cars and motorbikes at peak periods than ever, leading lengthy tailbacks that can stretch for miles on the roads. Secondly, construction sites and road closures can also negatively affect the traffic flows. The streets that are initially used to serve for transportation may be closed or be under construction, bringing traffic to a standstill and causing traffic congestion in the other streets.

There are a number of viable solutions to help mitigate the problem of traffic jams in big cities. One of those is to tax drivers and encourage car-pooling and park-and-ride schemes. For example, in London, there is a congestion charge which has significantly eased traffic congestion and improved the air quality. In addition, governments and local authorities should invest more in road-building programmes in order to alleviate bottlenecks in key areas. Another solution is that businesses and firms should give their workers more flexible timetables. For example, more people could telecommute or work flexitime rather than work nine-to-five jobs.

In conclusion, there are a lot of factors leading to traffic jams in urban areas and measures should be implemented to tackle this issue.