Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for major cities. What are the main causes of traffic congestion and suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic jams in big cities?

These days, traffic jams have become a major issue in most metropolitan areas. Traffic congestion usually occurs at peak periods, when everyone commutes to work and get home from these places. This essay will delve into the main causes of traffic gridlocks and suggest some measures to ease traffic jams in urban areas.

There’s no doubt that traffic congestion results from a number of factors. First of all, traffic gridlocks are caused by the growing number of vehicles on the streets. Because of the increasing demand for transportation and travelling, there are more and more cars and motorbikes than ever, leading to bumper-to-bumper traffic and lengthy tailbacks which can stretch for miles. Secondly, traffic congestion may be due to the lack of roads. In many urban areas, the city centre is the only way where vehicles can get through and soon becomes a bottleneck. Last but not least, construction sites and road closures also results in traffic jams. The streets that are initially used to serve for transportation may be under construction, negatively affecting the traffic flows and bringing traffic to a standstill.

There are a number of viable solutions to help tackle the problem of traffic congestion in big cities. One of those is to tax drivers and encourage car-pooling and park-and-ride schemes. For example, in London, there is a congestion charge which not only helps to reduce traffic but also improves air quality and promotes the use of public transport. In addition, governments and local authorities should invest more in road-building programmes in order to alleviate bottlenecks in key areas. Another solution is that businesses and firms can give their workers more flexible timetables. For example, more people could telecommute or work flexitime rather than work nine-to-five jobs. The Internet can be used to connect people, and meetings can be held as video conferences.

To conclude, traffic congestion is mainly caused by the large number of vehicles on the roads, the shortage of roads and road closures. Therefore, it’s essential that governments, businesses and individuals corporate together to solve to problem of traffic jams in urban areas.