3. The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the number of road accidents has increased dramatically in recent times, a number of people argue that there’ll be stricter punishments on traffic offences. I completely agree with this idea for a variety of reasons.

On the one hand, imposing heavier punishments on those who break the traffic laws would deter careless drivers from committing the same offence again. In addition, stricter punishments can also act as an effective deterrent for other drivers to conform to the traffic laws. For example, when a driver breaks the law many times, the police can suspend their driving license as a punishment, preventing other people from making the same mistakes when driving on the road. As a result, the number of traffic-related offences will decline and there’ll be fewer traffic accidents, ensuring road safety for everyone.

On the other hand, bringing in stricter punishments is not the only solution to traffic offences, but there’ll are some more effective ways of tackling this issue. For instance, as more campaigns are launched, public awareness about road safety and the consequences of traffic accidents can be enhanced. Thus, people will be more careful when driving or cycling on the road to ensure their and their families’ won safety. Furthermore, more surveillance cameras can be placed on street corners; as a consequence; those who are attempting to break the traffic laws will be prevented from committing the offence.

To conclude, stricter punishment can act as an effective solution to traffic offences. However, it is not the sole solution as there are many other ways to combat the problem such as raising public awareness and placing more surveillance cameras on street corners.