The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly accepted that the only solution to enhance road safety is to strictly punish reckless drivers. However, I believe that there are other measures that are also effective in ensuring road safety.

It is stark that harsher punishments on careless drivers is the only way to improve road safety. One of the good results is reducing the traffic accident rates. This is simply because stringent punishments can make the driver be in fear when they have to spend a large amount of money for the punishment. This leads to the situation that the citizen will reduce speed when they drive.

Doubtless, not only using stricter rules to enhance the safety of our roads but also there are still other effective approaches to take. First and foremost, the government should spend money improving the quality of roads in order to avoid road casualties. This assertion is supported by the fact that steep roads with sharp curves in the remote areas will cause danger for the drivers as a result accidents frequently occur in these areas. In addition, the government should arrange the patrol police on the empty road to punish driving offenses. This can be explained by the fact that the driver will be afraid to be fined money and confiscated their driver license when they are arrested by the police. This makes the citizen drive carefully.

In conclusion, I believe that stricter punishments are not the only way to deal with driving offenses. Other strategies such as improving the quality of road and arranging the patrol police on the empty road can also contribute to maintain road safety.