The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that increasing the minimum legal age for driving vehicles is the most effective way to make roads safer. I opine that this approach has some influence in the short-term, but the better solution to decrease traffic accidents is strict punishment.

On the one hand, limiting the legal age for driving cars or motorcycles has some benefits. Most traffic accidents are caused by young drivers who are careless drivers. When the government limits the age at which young people can think more carefully, they are not mature enough to understand the consequences of the decisions they make. Raising the legal age means that they have more time to become familiar with traffic rules.

On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to this approach. First of all, youngsters nowadays still drive motorbikes without a driving licence since they are not old enough. No matter what the rules and consequences are, they don't care about them. It is because the punishments are so mild that this is the reason for this action. Drivers should be checked regularly and more strict rules should be enacted. The police have to inspect everyone who exceeds the speed limit or drives without a helmet. When drivers offend, their driving licences must be revoked and a high fine must be paid. Rather than using private vehicles to get to work, local authorities should encourage citizens to use public transportation. This not only reduces cyclone traffic, but also keeps the environment clean.

To sum up, increasing the minimum legal age for driving vehicles is an excellent way to raise road safety. As I mentioned above, this method can be replaced by other ways to reduce traffic accidents.