With the pressure on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (e.g.: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether non-academic subjects should be involved in the school curriculum remains a question of intense debate. While some people believed that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that students can wholly focus on academic ones, others claim that those subject matters are of equal importance to students’ development. I personally agree with the latter idea for a variety of reasons.

First of all, forcing students on theoretical subjects would create a stressful and uncongenial school environment. Most academic subject matters seems extremely sophisticated and requires great diligence; therefore, eliminating non-academic subjects would bring about a more tedious and exhausting learning atmosphere. As a result, students are easily deprived of their learning interests and lack motivation to make progress, leading to an increasing likelihood of dropping out of school.

Secondly, non-academic subjects can be extremely beneficial to children’s development. To make it more specific, physical education can prevent obesity and consequently reduce the risks of various life-threating disease such as diabetes, heart attack, hypertension, etc. Arty subjects can promote creativity and develop cognitive skills. Down-to-earth courses such as cookery can equip students with essential life skills that can assist them when tackling different arising circumstances. Conversely, the exclusion of these subjects would raise an unhealthy, uncreative and impractical generation.

In conclusion, non-academic subjects are vital not only to children’s success but also their development. For this reason, there should be in incorporation of academic and non-academic subjects in the school curriculum so as to achieve the greatest levels of efficiency.