Wearing uniforms

Whether school uniforms should be mandatory remains a question of intense debate. Although some people claim that students should be allowed to wear casual clothes to school as it helps to encourage imagination and intellectual exploration, I firmly believe that wearing uniforms should be compulsory.

There is no doubt that school uniforms have a lot of benefits. First of all, wearing school uniforms can help students feel equal in many ways. As all students wear the same clothes to school, those of low-income families will be less likely to feel miserable about themselves and pay less attention to fashionable and brand clothes of their peers who come from affluent backgrounds. This not only boost students’ academic performance by engaging them in the lessons, but also creates a sense of belonging and prevent alienation. Secondly, wearing uniforms can help schools to monitor students more easily. Because each school has a distinctive type of uniform, making uniforms mandatory will help teachers and school administrators to track misbehaviour of their students. Hence, students will be aware of behaving responsbility, which can promote discipline.

Those who advocate wearing casual clothes to school may base their claim on the fact that uniforms may supress individualism. However, the evidence is totally inconclusive. Students still have many other ways to express their individuality but noy only in the school environment. For example, they can show it through their outlooks on life, their attitude to others or even their learning style. Moreover, schools mainly serve for educational purposes, specifically knowledge acquistion, so what’s the point in allowing students to wear casual clothes to school?

To conclude, as aforementioned, making students wear school uniforms is a better approach for children to thrive both in the academic environment and the outside world.