More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

These days, an increasing number of people are moving to urban areas in the hope of a higher living standard, but city life can possess a number of drawbacks. This essay will discuss the problems of living in metropolis areas and suggest how governments can contribute to improving the quality of life for everyone.

There is no doubt that urban life presents a set of issues. The first problem that exists within urban life is overcrowding. The high population density in cities often leads to a shortage of food and accommodation, pushing some poor people to live in slums and causing great social disparities. In addition, the unsanitary life in slums may lead to an outbreak of diseases, posing a grave health threat to city dwellers. Another issue of urban areas is the stressful and unhealthy life. In addition to bothersome traffic congestions and incessant roar of trucks and vehicles, city residents also have to cope with toxic emissions from industrial zones and exhaust fumes from motor vehicles which may cause a number of health problems such as chronic bronchitis, lung cancer and heart diseases.

However, there are some solutions that governments can apply to raise the quality of life in cities. To begin with, more tree-planting schemes and bicycle-sharing programmes should be launched to reduce pollution and improve the air quality. Governments should also restrict private car use and impose bans on heavy diesel vehicles. More importantly, they should invest more in housing and essential facilities, as well as raise funds to support deprived people. This will ensure that everyone can have access to important utilities and can narrow the gap between the rich and the poor.

To conclude, urban life can have some drawbacks including overpopulation and pollution. To solve these problems, it is of important that governments should launch more environmental-friendly programmes, restrict heavily-polluting vehicles and make more investment in essential facilities.