It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The primary purpose of educational institutions is to produce well-versed employees who are capable of completing their work with efficiency; therefore; urging schools to focus on practical matter such as home management, work and interpersonal skills is a laudable initiative. However, this essay disagrees with this viewpoint as academic subjects is of paramount importance in specialty occupations, dealing with various circumstances in a systemic approach, increasing career opportunities and contributing to the development of the society.

First of all, while some occupations, such as waitressing or barber, necessitate a little academic background, other fields of work such as law or medicine requires a profound insight of the subject area. In the former situation, the know-how can be easily transmitted from the manager to novices. However, in the case of law or medicine, such vast amounts of information are oily embedded in books and other academic materials. In addition, modifications in law or health are likely to be common occurrences; therefore, academic learning is a must for most certain professions.

Secondly academic teaching favors the student by adopting a systemic approach which can be replicated across all situations. Practical experience, on the other hand, often negatively biases certain students. For instance, a hairdresser trainee may only be tasked with a particular type of haircut since it is the only one demanded by customers. Through academic training, not only subject-specific knowledge is improve but crucial thinking skills are also promote, so students can tackle problems which may arise with better solutions.

In addition, academic subjects can expand career prospects. Great academic achievements are usually seen as a sign of hard work, self-discipline and great determination. As a result, those who master academic subjects can get an enormous advantage over other candidates for the same jobs.

Last but not least, academic subjects can provide competent knowledge for students to make great innovations in later life. From scientific discoveries to technological advances, all these breakthroughs are based on academic knowledge. Home management, work and interpersonal skills, however, can provide students with down-to-earth experiences but cannot contribute much to the development of the society as academic subjects.

In conclusion, academic subjects can contribute to students’ success and the benefits of the society, so the idea of teaching only practical matters in the classroom should be abolished. On the contrary, the school curriculum should focus more on academic subjects so that students can have a brighter future door.