It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and intepersonal skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether academic subjects or practical matters should be taught in schools remains a question of heated debate. In this modern society, it is usually thought that subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that only practical matters such as home management, work and intepersonal skills should be involved in the school curriculum. I strongly disagree with this idea for a number of reasons.

First of all, academic subjects can increase subject-specific knowledge and stimulate crucial thinking; therefore, children can tackle problems that may arise with better solutions. In addition, academic subjects can expand career prospects. Those who gain academic achievements are usually seen by employers as hard-working and self-discipline, so they usually get an advantage over other candidates when applying for the same job.

Secondly, academic subjects can provide competent knowledge for students to make great innovations in later life. From scientific discoveries to technological advances, all these breakthroughs are based on academic knowledge. Home management, work and intepersonal skills, on the other hand, can provide students with down-to-earth experiences but cannot contribute much to the development of the society as academic subjects.

Last but not least, it is the responsibility of parents to equip their children with practical matters but not teachers and school administrators. The home, not the classroom, is an ideal place to learn practical skills as children are under supervision and get help from an experienced adult. In addition, if all the onus for providing children with practical knowledge is put down to schools and teachers, what are the roles of parents in this society?

In conclusion, academic subjects can contribute to students’ success and the benefits of the society, so the idea of teaching only practical matters in the classroom should be abolished. On the contrary, the school curriculum should focus more on academic subjects so that students can have a brighter future door.