It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Courses taught in the academic institutions have always been subject to discussion. It is believed by a school of thought that schools have limited their focus more on formal studies rather than covering other aspects like personal and professional life challenges. I believe schools should be covering both the aspects.

It is agreed by everyone that formal studies are essential. School curriculum is defined to make sure that students are able to increase their level of education in steps. Schools provide foundation for children to build their life ahead when they grow older. Basic subjects like Maths, science, and linguistic courses help students to deversify their knowledge and thinking. However, it is the matter of debate that what portion of formal education is necessary for students in their school life.

We can not deny the importance of personality building for kids. It is argued that lesser portion of school time is reserved to foucs on character building of children. Although, it has been seen that increased attention is paid for extra curricular activities now a days, it is thought that this time and attention could be further increased. I am an advocate of this ideology because students of current times could get information and knowledge from a lot of sources that includes TV, smartphone, youtube etc. Schools should rather focus more on aligning the knowledge with practical skills that are required for living a successful life.

Concluding the above discussion, I would say that there is no deniel with the importance of formal education. However, it is the need of time to increase focus and time for providing practical education along with the routine education.