Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Whether skills such as cooking or dressing should be added to schools’ curricula or not remains a controversial issue. While some people claim that these skills can prepare students for their lives ahead, I believe that students should only be taught academic subjects for a number of reasons.

It is evident that academic knowledge can prepare students for a better career. Those who master academic knowledge are usually more likely to pass examinations, gain essential qualifications and increase their job prospects. In addition, academic knowledge is undeniably a prerequisite for entering some of the great guilds such as medicine, law and academia, which can provide secure and lucrative jobs. Blue-collar workers and school dropouts, on the other hand, usually have to cope with a life of cash-strapped insecurity and face the risks of losing their jobs at any time.

More importantly, teaching students academic subjects can make contributions to society. There’s no doubt that subjects such as Maths and Science are tremendously beneficial to society. For example, teaching science is useful because it can lead to the discovery of new medicines and vaccinations. These vaccinations can help to inoculate people against diseases, boosting public health and enhancing the quality of life.

Proponents of teaching practical skills base their claim on the fact that academic qualifications are no longer the only route to success, and practical skills should be taught to students at school. While this is true to some extent, it must be remembered that students still have many opportunities to learn practical skills outside the school environment. For instance, they can learn these from their mothers, who usually take responsibility for handling domestic chores and therefore have much more experience and advice to pass on their children rather than schoolteachers.

To conclude, only academic subjects should be taught to students, and practical skills should be eliminated from the schools’ syllabus. Academic knowledge can not only ensure students’ a brighter and more secure future but also contribute to the development of society.