As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom.

It is undeniable that computers have become an indispensable part in our everyday life, especially in the field of education. As the use of computers is becoming increasingly widespread, many people believe that the roles of teachers are less important than before. I will discuss both views in my following essay.

On one hand, technology can be such a powerful tool for illustrating the lessons, therefore capturing students’ attention and creating a more engaged learning environment. Moreover, technology can effectively serve students’ need. Because each student has a different intellectual ability, technology can allow them to study at their own pace and their own style. This can create a relaxing attitude, which can boost students’ concentration and conduce a better grasping of knowledge. At a higher educational level, the availability of digital books, simulator and other academic materials can provide students with an ever accessible source of information, which otherwise would not be at hand.

However, the roles of teachers in the classrooms should not be seen as peripheral. First of all, teachers can provide social interaction and meaningful moral lessons to students. They can also equip students with important skills such as group skills, negotiation skills, problem-solving skills. Secondly, an experienced teacher can acknowledge students’ deficiencies by repeating their explanation, giving extra exercises or suggesting useful learning materials. Teachers also give students much passion and inspire them to be lifelong learners. These roles can hardly be mimicked by a computer, no matter how sophisticated the software is.

To conclude, computers can support students’ learning progress, while teachers help them identify their mistakes, give them useful advice and lead them through their study path. For this reasons, no computers can ever compromise or threaten the roles of the teacher in the classroom.