The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that stricter punishments will deter many motorists from driving dangerously or carelessly on the roads. However, I strongly disagree that this is the only way to improve road safety, because there are alternative measures which would also be effective.

On the one hand, strict punishments can certainly encourage people to drive more safely. Penalties for dangerous drivers can act as a deterrent, deterring people from repeating the same offence.There are variou types of driving punishement such as small fines, license suspension and even prison sentences. The aim of those penalties is to show dangerous drivers that their actions to break the traffic laws have negative consequences. As a result, people will be more alert and disciplined about road safety, so they will act within the traffic laws.

While harsh penalties for offenders should be high on the government agenda, there are other steps which national and local authorities should take to improve road safety. Firstly, it is of great importance to educate young people before they start to drive and this can be done in schools or even as part of a driving test. Secondly, there should be more traffic signs to warn people about road safety, as well as more surveillance cameras to deter careless or dangerous drivers from attempting to break the traffic laws. Finally, governments can help tackle the issue of road accidents by investing in better public transport, so there’ll be fewer cars and motorbikes on the road.

In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penaltie