Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether imprisonment can help to combat the rising crime crates remains a highly controversial issue. Some people claim that rehabilitation is a better way to fight against crime because they can help to change offenders’ behaviour and beliefs. However, sending criminals to jail is more effective because it is the right form of punishment and can reinforce individual’s reponsibility.

Firstly, it is obvious that prisons can serve all purposes well, including prevention, deterrence and retribution. As those who commit crimes are imprisoned, they will be prevented from posing threats to society. In addition, the complete loss of liberty in a prison can act as a deterrent, discouring others from getting involved in crime. Moreover, incarceration can help society gain retribution from offenders. Obviously, imprisonment is an effective method to reduce crime.

Secondly, there is no doubt that sending criminals to prison can ensure that those who commit offences take responsibilities for what they have done. If criminals are not put on jail, they will get away with their actions. Unless harsh penalties are imposed, criminals will be absolved of their responsiblities, eroding the moral fabric of the society.

Those who oppose incarceration base their argument on the fact that sending criminals to jail is justing merely dealing with the symptoms rather than addressing the root causes. Although this is true to some extent, rehabilitation, which includes education and job training, is just a soft option. Without heavy punishments, criminals will continue to offend with virtual impunity. Therefore, it is generally agreed that the imposition of imprisonment is the most practical way to solve the problem of crime.

To conclude, although many people believe that education and training should replace imprisonment, imprisonment is indeed the best option. Sending criminals to jail is not only the right form of punishment but can also ensure individual’s responsiblities.