Crime is a problem that all societies face. Some people contend that providing job opportunities and education programs is more effective than incarcerating offenders. I partly agree with this view. The treatment of lawbreakers in many jails is grossly inhumane. As a result, the inmates have to suffer from a harsh penitentiary environment. For instance, they are beaten up by other detainees and prison guards as they do not obey the prison’s rules or rise conflict between each other. In addition, the use of isolated prison rooms as punishment thereby exacerbates mental health problems and deprives them of human contact in need. On the contrary, a prison sentence is a way of removing wrongdoers from society who infringe the law, which would in turn act as a deterrent to other would-be offenders. Therefore, the convicts would rehabilitate, have a chance to reintegrate into the community and become law-abiding citizens. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I would concur that confinement and education programs for captives have both benefits and drawbacks.