Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In the recent decades, it has been believed that educational provision and job training should be the replacement of imprisonment which is considered as an inefficient way. From my personal perspective, I strongly disagree with this opinion and several reasons will be put forward in the following paragraphs to prove my point of view.

On the one hand, I concur that educating awareness and providing job training can be one of the effective ways to this issue because it is likely to be an exposure of humanitarianism which is fair to every citizen. More specifically, in several special cases, juvenile curbs the delinquencies at a very young age as a result of being induced by peer although I believed that in the depth of mortality, they are not naturally bad. Youngsters mostly perform a poor awareness of the consequences of an unlawful act they committed. Therefore, educational and occupational programs are needed to encourage them become a different version of themselves and well prepare for community reintegration into community after being released.

On the other hand, I also have a strong belief that prison sentence plays an efficient role in punishing the offenders who commit a heinous crime such as serial murder, sexual assault. This retribution is regarded the price criminals have to pay. It also serves as one of the embodiment of justice and fairness as well as allows them to rethink about their lawbreaking. In the considerable run of imprisonment, it is more likely that they will show the signs of sincere repentance.

In conclusion, two measures have their own effects. Therefore, I believe that lawmakers should be taken the combined penalty into consideration to demonstrate the best efficiency.