Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people assume that educational opportunities and vocational training should alter prison sentences because putting lawbreakers into jail is not the ultimate answer. However, I suppose this is a one-sided point of view and therefore disagree with it.

There are a plethora of compelling reasons why it is unreasonable to consider imprisonment is an antiquated practice. A prison sentence serves as one of the embodiments of justice and fairness in society. Should a person engage in unlawful acts, be it a misdemeanor or a felony, they ought to be thrown into jail, or else communities will encounter anarchy. Moreover, prisons are not only the physical place that keeps criminals and protects innocent people but also a reminder of the consequences of combating the law. For instance, when a person intentionally caused major crimes such as abduction, sexual assault, human trafficking, or arson, they could receive life in prison. During prison time, they are rehabilitated successively and some will probably agonize over their wrongdoings.

Although progressive education and job training can bolster a person’s cognitive and employability, and lessen crime rates in theory, they are not capable of diminishing all the elements that induce a person to become a criminal. Facts have shown that there have been multiple heinous crimes conducted by well-educated citizens, for example, several people working in the state in Vietnam involved in corruption, smuggling, or attempted murder. Therefore they made their country fall into chaos, and lack a sense of safety and security. We cannot disregard that those who are morally bad by nature and psychologically unstable may show a propensity for crime because of their uncontrolled thought and behaviors.

In conclusion, better education and job training are not a significant solution, nor they can replace prison sentences. It is the combination of both methods that can succeed in reducing crime levels.