There holds a debate of a large number of Vietnamese that people should stop killing cats and dogs for food since these animals are very friendly and close to people. Others still remain this eating habit since these animals supply a huge amount of meat for people traditionally. Which idea are you in favor of?

Opinions are divided among Vietnamese people on whether the practice of killing cats and dogs should be done away with or continued. In my opinion, this eating habit should be stopped for several reasons.

Granted, one might argue that it is justfiable to kill dogs and cats for meat. This is predicated on the assumption that these animals’ meat can provide extra proten in addition to that of pigs and chicken, which is undoubtedly essential to a healthy diet. While this line of reason seems to be true in theory, this eating habit can actually bring a lot of associated health risks. In fact, research has shown that cats’ and dogs’ meat might contain parasites, which can later result in blindless, myocarditis and even respiratory failure. This clearly renders that it is not at all advisable to use dogs’ and cats’ meat as a source of food.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note that unlike pigs or chickens, cats and dogs have long been humans’ closest friends. This is because for ages, dogs have been reliable home guards, and cats have significantly aided people in chasing mice and rodents. In addition, it has been scientifically proven that these pets can be greatly beneficial to humans’ health as well. More specifically, cats and dogs can provide valuable companionship especially to older members, ease feelings of loniless and motivate us to exercise in a more frequent basis. Given their great advantages and close relationship with humans, it is therefore reasonable to say that they should never be killed and used as food.

To conclude, my view is that people should not kill cats and dogs for their meat, for the reasons stated above.