As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no
role for teachers in the classroom.
There have been immense advances in technology in most aspects of people's lives,
especially in the field of education. Nowadays, an increasing number of students rely on
computers to research for information and to produce a perfect paper for school
purposes. Others have decided to leave the original way of learning to get knowledge
through online schools. These changes in the learning process have brought a special
concern regarding the possible decrease of importance of teachers in the classroom.
Some people believe the role of teachers started to fade because computers have been
helping some students to progress in their studies quicker than when compared with an
original classroom. For example, in the same classroom, students have different
intellectual capacities, thus some would be tied to a slow advance in their studies
because of others’ incapacity of understanding. In this way, pupils could progress in their
acquisition of knowledge at their own pace using computers instead of learning from
teachers.
However, the presence of a teacher is essential for students because the human contact
influences them in positive ways. Firstly, students realize that they are not dealing with a
machine but with a human being who deserves attention and respect. They also learn the
importance of studying in group and respect other students, which helps them to improve
their social skills.
Moreover, teachers are required in the learning process because they acknowledge some
student's deficiencies and help them to solve their problems by repeating the same
explanation, giving extra exercises, or even suggesting a private tutor. Hence, students
can have a bigger chance not to fail in a subject.
In conclusion, the role of teachers in the learning process is still very important and it will
continue to be in the future because no machine can replace the human interaction and
its consequences.