Some people think that university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Whether university students should have the freedom to pursue their favourite subjects remains a question of heated debate. Some people strongly advocate this idea, while others believe only science and technology related subjects are necessary. I will discuss both these views in my following essay.

On the one hand, allowing university students to choose their favourite majors will bring them motivation and passion to make progress. Hence, they’ll be more knowledgeable and prepared to take challenges. Therefore, it is totally absurb to force students to study compulsory subjects as this policy would deprive their interests and increase the likelihood of dropping out of school. Besides, all subjects are of equal importance and it is impossible to predict what areas of knowledge will take advantage in the future. For example, there’ll be entirely new fields that require high levels of creativity rather than practical and technical skills. In this case, the society would need more students of art, history and philosophy than science and technology.

On the contrary, it can be argued that in this technological era, science and technology can provide more job opportunities, career progression, better salaries, and therefore an improved quality of life for students who take them. On the societal level, by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, governments can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the economy are covered. What’s more, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity.

In conclusion, although it seems sensible for universtities to focus on the most useful subjects, I still prefer a system in which people have free choices to study what they are passionate about.