Many employees may work at home with the modern technology. Some people claim that it can benefit only the workers, not the employers.

Do you agree or disagree?

Telecommuting is becoming increasingly popular in modern days for its undeniable convenience. However, there have been opinions against this practice claiming that it may negatively affect the employers. Personally, I believe that not only does telework benefit workers but it also brings many advantages to their companies.

Firstly, teleworking helps companies reduce costs substantially. Because telecommuters do not go to a central workplace, the employers will not have to pay for renting offices, equipping furniture and stationery, and hiring cleaners. This amount of money might be better spent on advertising, upgrading products and human resources which are essential for the company’s long-term development.

Secondly, working from home increases the company’s profitability. At home, workers are more focused on their work because they work under a comfortable condition and on a flexible schedule, thus reducing stress level. In addition, in offices there are a lot of distractions such as colleagues’ chatting or worries about family responsibilities. Telework can have all those problems solved and boost staffs’ productivity. What I want to emphasize here is the correlation between productivity and lucrativeness. The more efficiently employees work, the higher profit their company will obtain.

Finally, telecommuting allows the company to maintain its operation in case of emergency. For instance, when a flood, heavy rain or a epidemic strikes and people are not recommended to go out or meet others, working from home proves to be one of the best solutions to preventing loss in productivity and revenue to the organization. This is also the reason why it is highly suggested that companies consider teleworking as part of their preparation for severe weather events and contagious diseases.

On the whole, although there are convincing arguments against the practice of telecommuting, I believe the mutual benefits that it brings to both workers and employers are much greater than the loss it may cause.