Many employers find that their new employees lack sufficient interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

In this day and age, many senior workers find newcomers lacking adequate soft skills in order to collaborate with other colleagues in a team. This essay will shed light on several reasons resulting in this current phenomenon, as well as suggesting effective methods to mitigate the situation.

To commence with, the present phenomenon can be ascribed to the significant increase in the number of hours of study conducted by graduates when they were high school students. It is undoubted that students nowadays spend a great deal of their time absorbing knowledge, reading materials, and reviewing the information accommodated by teachers. This is especially true for 12th-grade students who invariably spend at least 8 to 10 hours daily studying and taking simulated tests with a view to evaluating themselves and amending their weaknesses so that they can stay well-prepared for essential examinations such as GCSE or Gaokao. As accomplishing excellent results denotes having more chances to be approved by first-class universities such as Oxford, Cambridge, or Beijing, more learners make their best attempt to study as much as possible. In addition, nowadays, more youngsters spend a considerable amount of their time contacting with individuals virtually via Messenger or Instagram. Due to a significant decrease in the number of hours for physical communication, graduates do not possess adequate soft skills to interact and cooperate effectively with one another.

However, there are several methods that can be implemented so as to mitigate the current situation. First, it is crucial that schools and educators organize more extracurricular and outdoor activities that teachers and students can all engage in regardless of social status and background. This can bring various benefits to students as they can spend more time with friends and teachers, thus consolidating the connection between individuals, as well as developing fundamental interpersonal skills such as communicating courteously and working efficiently with people. Moreover, young people should be encouraged to participate in social activities operated by charitable organizations before seeking employment. By joining these activities not only can the young learn valuable experience from people from all walks of life and enhance their life skills, but they can also assist underprivileged people and contribute tremendously to the improvement of society.

In conclusion, the aforementioned factors have caused young adults to lack sufficient interpersonal skills to work well with others as a team at the workplace; however, several measures, when implemented, can greatly alleviate the current phenomenon.