Many feel that happiness is mainly an individual responsibility, while others feel that there

are important external factors. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Striving for happiness has always been one of the primary objectives of human beings. Some people believe that the ability to be happy depends on an individual themselves, while others say that several external influences may impede. I am of the opinion that outer factors play a vital role in people’s happiness.

On the one hand, the achievement life satisfaction is clearly considered unattainable without an open mindset of a person. This means that a positive attitude as well as the ability to receive pleasure are supposed to be essential elements of happiness. Therefore, people who opt to establish low benchmarks and live to their standards may consider themselves satisfied with their lives. For example, the opulent are not always regarded as happy people owing to the individual requirements; and often exorbitant purchases do not entail happiness. In other words, people who crave for happiness ought to possess the right state of mind.

On the other hand, I reckon that several externalities affect humans’ pursuit for wellbeing, namely the government and spontaneous health issues. Firstly, the authorities encroach upon one’s happiness by implementing unjust laws, which exacerbate the person’s life quality. Moreover, another uncontrolled factor is terminal illnesses that cast a shadow on of the most crucial property of people, their health. The above-mentioned phenomenon defy control and should be taken into consideration as the most damaging factors for happiness.

To conclude, although I admit the role of a personal attitude, I strongly believe that external factors such as diseases and governmental interference must be dealt with in determining people’s happiness.