Many government think that economic growth is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People hold different views about how to measure the development of a country. While I agree with the view that economic progress is essential, I believe that there are a range of other forms of progress which are equally important.

It is apparent that economic growth has long been high on government’s agenda worldwide, which is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. This might be explained by the first reason that a healthy economy would boost job creation for labour market and result in a high rate of employment. As a result, employees would be paid with higher wages, which enable them to cover their basic needs and improve the standards of living. Furthermore, when the economic growth collects higher revenues, the government will have more budgets to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, public transport system would be invested more and improved by increasing the frequency of buses or tubes, which would make them more convenient for users. Finally, a thriving economy would help a country have a strong standing on the global stage through international trading and cooperation.

On the other hand, I would argue that various other measures of progress needed to consider as the economic factor. Firstly, it is said that the economic growth which is not based on conserving natural resources is causing severe environmental consequences. For example, the continued use of fossil fuels which provides the energy for economic development is causing global warming. This is leading to a rise in sea levels, which eventually makes millions of poor people homeless. Secondly, the perception of people in society about social justice, human rights and cultural preservation has also been significant. For instance, Bhutan which has rejected Gross Domestic Production as the only way to measure progress, is the only country in the world that has “Gross National Happiness”. This index measures prosperity by its citizen’s happiness levels which ensure material and spiritual development to happen together. Consequently, this country, which has been known as one of the happiest place in the world, not only can keep economic growing, but also maintain the environment and cultural identity at the same time.

In conclusion, although I accept that economic growth plays an important role, I believe that the authorities should allocate resources to other areas properly to achieve sustainable development goals.