Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that more and more people are studying at home through distance education via the Internet to achieve tertiary qualifications instead of attending a traditional classroom with a lecturer. While I accept that distance learning brings some potential of benefits for students, I believe that there are some drawbacks of this trend.

Admittedly, distance education features several advantages thanks to the proliferation of the Internet and advances in technology. Firstly, by removing the barrier of distance, online courses which are delivered by universities and colleges enable millions of students to economize when pursuing higher education. For example, a Vietnamese student living in a rural area will be able to enjoy the benefits of a virtual classroom created by an American top-tier institution, which means that he will not to pay for airfare and the other cost of living. Secondly, online study can allow students set their own study time. This might be explained by the fact that online lectures offer students greater flexibility and enable them create a timetable in line with their needs and characteristics. As a result, students do not have to waste time commuting and there is no need to worry about traffic congestion or the stress of coping with the rush hour.

However, it seems to me that distance studying certainly has shortcomings compared with traditional learning with a teacher. In terms of transmission of knowledge, digital gadgets hardly function as effectively as a human teacher does in a classroom. For instance, in virtual learning environment, a computer can only answer questions which have been programmed and fail to answer unusual, non-standard and unprecedented questions. By contrast, in a face-to-face course, a human teacher is able to respond flexibly with giving well-tailored, persuasive and inspiring answers. From the perspective of soft skills, teachers who are role models with life and work experiences have played a vital role as mentors and advisors during courses. Not only can this interaction broaden students’ knowledge, but it can also strengthen their problem solving and critical thinking skills.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages of distance learning through online resources, I believe that some disadvantages of this trend can be identified.